lea-home

A World Conference of Workers without a Language Barrier – the 2008 SAT Congress in Kazanlak (Bulgaria)

History
Worldwide
Esperanto
Courses
Magazine
Texts
Links
Contact

[Text: group of congress participants]

A World Conference of Workers Gets around the Language Barrier

An 18-year-old young woman whose native language is French sits at the table with an 80-year-old anarchist whose native language is Bulgarian. As they sip coffee, he recounts his prison experiences before and during Communist rule. Out in the hallway, a 60-year-old Bulgarian woman and a 20-year-old Serb exchange information about their living conditions. During a meeting, a man from Extremadura explains to participants from different language groups that the bosses are organizing exploitation in the European Union in a way that transcends national boundaries. A comrade from Tokyo says that the Japanese Communist Party is the fourth-largest in the country and is drawing mass support from young people. Despite the wide range of political opinion and language, everybody communicates skillfully in Esperanto. This is the 81st Congress of the World Anational Association in Kazanlak, Bulgaria.

From August 9 to August 16, 2008, 80 workers from 14 countries and 3 continents came together once again to develop their organization, exchange knowledge and experience about socio-political events throughout the world, make friends and initiate new projects. The program is packed with events.

Social Forums

These forums dealt with subjects like world hunger, trade-union activity and aid to immigrants, possible solutions to the worldwide environmental and social crisis, the socio-political situation in post-socialist regions of the world and exploitation in capitalist paradise. The congress Declaration summarizes the qualities and provisional conclusions of these debates.

Development of SAT's Activities

In order to extend internal democracy and contacts with comrades who lack internet access, a network of SAT circles is being set up, i.e. groups of members in specific regions who come together to organize local contacts with other workers' organizations and to discuss the organization's internal affairs.

SAT is actively pursuing its activity against armament, calling upon states to sign the Convention of Ottawa and the future Oslo agreement.

SAT is embarking on an ambitious campaign that aims to publish informational material in a number of languages about SAT's worldwide educational role.

In keeping with its educational role, SAT has decided to organise training courses in web management and organizational finance, so that the membership can be as independent as possible inside and outside of SAT.

The publishing cooperative, having launched its activity by producing informational material, T-shirts, several brochures and its first book, Mortopuno ["The Death Penalty"], has now come out with two new books in its new collection Laborista Memoro ["Workers' Memory"].

La Pariza Komunumo de 1871 was edited in collaboration with the Friends of the Paris Commune of 1871. It presents articles about several of the Commune's active participants, along with a historical sketch of this significant episode in workers' history. La Itala Socialismo kaj Esperanto presents the debate on Esperanto that took place in the Italian socialist press in 1918 and in which Antonio Gramsci had a very influential role. The historical documentation is supplemented by three current articles that shed light on the debate from several angles. Most of the collaborators are members of the Esperanto section of the Italian socio-cultural association Arci. Three more books are in preparation and five new projects were initiated during the congress.

          

The Cultural Program

Several lectures were held:
- A Short History of Bulgaria and the City of Kazanlak by Svoboda Damyanova
- The Women's Movement in Bulgaria by Radka Stoyanova
- The Book "Salvo de nigra bubalo" by Laszlo Husar
- The Working Class Esperanto Writer Christo Gorov by Radka Stoyanova
- Chudomir, Bulgarian Writer and Painter by Nikolao Uzunov

As befits a workers' organization, the program was rich in presentations of folk culture:
- folk dances and songs presented by local folk dance clubs
- a concert by Libriko, a Belgrade ensemble consisting of four young brothers and sisters, whose rendition of music from the whole world was both touching and impressive. At the end of the concert they even asked members of SAT to contribute by sending them more songs and music from their own regions. That is the kind of direct exchange in which SAT's members may engage.

Excursions

As is always the case at Esperanto congresses, the opportunity for tourism is not neglected, as local people are there to show the region to foreigners, and are the most capable interpreters. In Kazanlak, participants paid visits to museums of ethnology, the rose industry, the artist and storyteller Chudomir, the musician Petko, and to the replica of a Thracian cemetery. In the vicinity of Kazanlak they visited a real Thracian cemetery, the beautiful Russian church in Shipka, a memorial at the summit of Shipka Pass, the monastery at Drianovo and the city of Veliko Tarnovo, once the capital of Bulgaria.

And most of all, direct contacts alongside the official program

As full as the official program was, it would be wrong to treat it as if it were all there was to the congress. Contact between people occurred between meetings, during meals and for some late at night. There is no way to go into all of the extras that are the wealth of a SAT congress, and which do more to implant a worldwide class consciousness in their minds than any theoretical lecture. Just one example of many: a retired Australian plumber doubted that it was very worthwhile to go to a congress attended by many "intellectuals", teachers, engineers and the like. His neighbor at the table, a biology researcher, was easily able to find examples to show that that was an exaggerated generalization (especially as the third person at the table was an agricultural worker from the Pyrenees), based on just a few experiences at the congress. Or a discussion about corruption and racism in the trade-union milieu with a former diamond cutter. Or the remark made by one of the organizers of the congress, a worker at an arms factory, during a walk. He noted that non-reimbursement of medical costs by the health insurance system has become the fashion in Bulgaria too.

Naturally, discussions are not always that serious. To judge from the spontaneity of the laughter, the play on words made by a Croatian woman comes over well to her neighbors, whose native languages are French or Dutch.

It is also worth mentioning that some exchanges took place in English too. One time that happened was when two women from the Bulgarian communist party came for a visit. It was quite different, for a change, to stammer in hesitant English during conversations out in the hallway, and to confer during the meeting through the medium of a Bulgarian Esperantist interpreter. That didn't keep other multilingual participants from taking advantage of the occasion to refresh their knowledge of Bulgarian. Esperanto is a very practical solution to the problem of worldwide communication, but by no means the only one or in some way compulsory.

Declaration of the 2008 SAT Congress

The 81st Congress of SAT in Kazanlak (Bulgaria), which convened from the 9th to the 16th of August 2008,

  • requests in a letter to the ambassadors of China, Finland, India, Israel, Russia and the United States to Bulgaria that they call upon their respective governments to sign quickly the Ottawa Convention, which bans the use and manufacture of anti-personnel mines,
  • notes
    - that illegalisation, detention at the border and administrative imprisonment of immigrants, such as they occur throughout the world, violate human rights to free movement and decent living conditions,
    - that economic, military, climate change and other pressures that cause involuntary emigration need to be eliminated,
    - and commits itself to combat such injustices on the part of governments,
  • notes that problems of Earth governance and socio-political problems are inseparable and that their solution requires a dialectical synthesis between ecologism and socialism,
  • notes that the present hunger crisis, just like problems of global governance and socio-political problems, cannot be solved through begging and through humanitarian and benevolent activities, but rather by providing horizontal direct mutual aid and by exchanging experiences and ways and means: SAT is one instrument of such mutual relations,
  • encourages workers in post-socialist and other areas of the world to hold their heads up and organise on a worldwide scale to combat the capitalist system that continues to oppress them. nach oben

">ĝisdatigo de 2017-04-18 / last changes made on Apr. 18, 2017

lea-home

Eine weltweite Arbeiter-Begegnung ohne Sprachbarrieren – der SAT-Kongress 2008 in Kasanlak

Geschichte
Weltweit
Esperanto
Kurse
Zeitschrift
Texte
Links
Kontakt
[Text: Autorengruppe aus Kongressteilnehmern]

Eine weltweite Arbeiterbegegnung ohne Sprachbarrieren

Am Kaffeetisch sitzt eine französischsprachige 18-Jährige mit einem bulgarischsprachigen Anarchisten, der ihr erzählt, wie er seine Gefängnisaufenthalte vor und während der kommunistischen Zeit erlebt hat. Auf dem Korridor tauschen sich eine 60-jährige Bulgarin und ein 20-jähriger Serbe über ihre Lebensbedingungen aus. Während einer Sitzung bemerkt jemand aus Extremadura vor verschiedensprachigen Teilnehmern, dass die Bosse die Ausbeutung in der Europäischen Union übernational organisieren. Ein Genosse aus Tokio teilt mit, dass die Japanische Kommunistische Partei die viertgrößte im Land sei und von Jugendlichen massenhaft unterstützt wird. Trotz politischer Meinungsunterschiede und sprachlicher Verschiedenheit verständigen sich alle unbeschwert auf Esperanto. Das war der 81. Kongress des Anationalen Weltbundes in Kasanlak, Bulgarien.

Zwischen dem 9. und dem 16. August 2008 trafen sich 80 Arbeiter aus 14 Ländern und 3 Kontinenten, um ihre Organisation weiterzuentwickeln, Informationen und Erfahrungen über gesellschaftspolitische Ereignisse in der Welt auszutauschen, sich anzufreunden und neue Projekte in Angriff zu nehmen. Das Programm war reichhaltig.

Sozialforen

Diese haben sich mit Themen wie Welthunger, Gewerkschaftsaktivität, Hilfe für Immigranten, mögliche Lösungen der weltweiten Umwelt- und sozialen Krisen, die gesellschaftspolitische Situation in postsozialistischen Gebieten und Ausbeutung im kapitalistischen Paradies befasst; die Kongressdeklaration zeichnet ein allgemeines Bild der Debatten und ihrer vorläufigen Ergebnisse.

Entwicklung der Aktivität von SAT

Zwecks Erweiterung der inneren Demokratie und der Verbindung zu Genossen ohne Internetzugang wird ein Netz von regionalen SAT-Mitgliedergruppen aufgebaut, um Kontakte mit anderen Arbeiterorganisationen zu organisieren und Verbandsangelegenheiten zu erörtern.

SAT setzt seine gegen Aufrüstung gerichtete Aktivität fort, indem er Staaten zur Unterzeichnung der Konvention von Ottawa und der künftigen Konvention von Oslo auffordert.

SAT eröffnet eine ehrgeizige Kampagne zur Erarbeitung von Informationsmaterial in verschiedenen Sprachen über die weltweite aufklärerische Rolle von SAT.

In Verbindung damit sollen Bildungsmaßnahmen zu den Sachgebieten Webmanagement und Verbandsfinanzen organisiert werden, damit die Mitglieder innerhalb und außerhalb von SAT selbständiger ihrer täglichen Tätigkeit nachgehen können.

Die Verlagskooperative, nachdem sie zum Auftakt Werbemittel, T-Shirts, Broschüren und ein erstes Buch, Mortpuno, herausgebracht hat, hat jetzt zwei neue Bücher in der Reihe Laborista Memoro (Arbeitererinnerung) veröffentlicht.

La Pariza Komunumo de 1871 wurde in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Freundeskreis der Pariser Kommune von 1871 vorbereitet. Das Buch beschreibt eine der bedeutendsten Episoden der Geschichte der Arbeiterklasse und enthält zur Vertiefung des Themas auch Artikel über einige bedeutende Persönlichkeiten der Kommune. La Itala Socialismo kaj Esperanto stellt die Esperanto-Debatte auf den Seiten der italienischen sozialistischen Presse des Jahres 1918 vor, bei der Antonio Gramsci eine besonders einflussreiche Rolle einnahm. Drei Beiträge aus der Gegenwart ergänzen die historischen Dokumente zum Thema. Die meisten Mitarbeitenden gehören der Fachgruppe Esperanto des italienischen Kulturverbands Arci an. Drei weitere Bücher sind in Vorbereitung und fünf andere Projekte nahmen während des Kongresses ihren Anfang.

          

Kulturprogramm

Mehrere Vorträge wurden gehalten:
- Eine kurze Geschichte Bulgariens und der Stadt Kasanlak von Swoboda Damjanowa
- Die Frauenbewegung in Bulgarien von Radka Stojanowa
- Das Buch Salvo de nigra bubalo von Laszlo Husar
- Der Esperanto-Arbeiterschriftsteller Christo Gorow von Radka Stojanowa
- Tschudomir, bulgarischer Schriftsteller und Maler von Nikolao Uzunow

Wie es in einer Arbeiterorganisation gehört, kamen Volkskulturdarstellungen nicht zu kurz:
- Volkstänze und Volkslieder, die durch örtliche Volkstanzvereine vorgestellt wurden;
- ein Konzert des Belgrader Ensembles Libriko, das aus vier jungen Geschwistern besteht, die in berührender Weise Musikstücke aus aller Welt darboten. Am Ende des Konzerts baten sie die Zuschauer, weitere Lieder und Musikstücke aus den eigenen Regionen einzusenden – eine weitere Art des direkten Austausches durch SAT-Mitglieder.

Ausflüge

Wie bei Esperanto-Kongressen üblich, wird die Gelegenheit touristisch ausgenutzt, da Ortsansässige die besten Fremdenführer und Dolmetscher in ihrer Region sind. In Kasanlak wurden Museen für Ethnologie, die Rosenindustrie, den Zeichner und Erzähler Tschudomir, den Musiker Petko, sowie eine Nachbildung des thrakischen Friedhofs besucht. In der Umgebung besichtigten die Teilnehmer einen echten thrakischen Friedhof, die wunderschöne russische Kirche Schipka, das Kloster Drianowo und die Stadt Weliko Tarnowo, die ehemalige bulgarische Hauptstadt.

Und vor allen Dingen: unmittelbare Kontakte abseits vom Programm

Auch wenn das Programm reichhaltig war, wäre es falsch, Programmablauf und Kongress gleichzusetzen. Austausch gab es auch zwischen Sitzungen, bei Mahlzeiten und für einige bis spät in der Nacht. Alles, was ein SAT-Kongress bereichert und mehr als Theorievorträge zur Verankerung eines weltumfassenden Klassenbewusstseins in den Köpfen beiträgt, lässt sich nicht aufzählen. Ein Beispiel unter vielen: ein australischer Rentner, ehemaliger Klempner, bezweifelte, dass es sich lohnt, einen Kongress zu besuchen, wo die meisten Teilnehmer "Intelligenzler" sind, Lehrer oder Ingenieure zum Beispiel. Sein Tischnachbar, ein biologischer Forscher, fand leicht Beispiele dafür, dass diese Auffassung Erfahrungen aus nur einigen Kongressen übertrieben verallgemeinert (um so mehr, als der dritte am Tisch ein Landarbeiter aus den Pyrenäen war...). Die Unterhaltung mit einem ehemaligen Diamantschleifer über Korruption und Rassismus im Gewerkschaftsmilieu, oder die während eines Spaziergangs getroffene Feststellung eines der Organisatoren, eines Arbeiters in einer Waffenfabrik, dass die Herausnahme medizinischer Dienstleistungen aus dem Versicherungskatalog nun auch in Bulgarien Mode wird.

Natürlich waren die Diskussionen nicht immer ernst. Es war immer wieder verblüffend, wie etwa das Wortspiel einer Kroatin von den Umstehenden, deren Muttersprache Französisch oder Niederländisch war, sofort verstanden und mit aufbrausendem Gelächter quittiert wurde.

Zum Schluss sei angemerkt, dass es auch Meinungsaustausch auf Englisch gab, etwa während des Besuchs zweier Verantwortlicher der Bulgarischen Kommunistischen Partei. Was für ein Unterschied zwischen den zögerlich auf Englisch geführten Unterhaltungen auf der Flur und der Diskussion in der Versammlung, die ein bulgarischer Esperantist gedolmetscht hat! Es gab auch einige mehrsprachige Teilnehmer, die bei passender Gelegenheit ihre Bulgarischkenntnisse aufgefrischt haben. Esperanto ist eine sehr praktische Lösung für das Weltkommunikationsproblem, aber keineswegs die einzige oder eine obligatorische.

Deklaration des SAT-Kongresses 2008

Der 81. SAT-Kongress in Kasanlak (Bulgarien), der vom 9. bis zum 16. August 2008 tagte,

  • hat durch einen Brief die Botschafter Chinas, Finnlands, Indiens, Israels, Russlands und der Vereinigten Staaten in Bulgarien gebeten, ihre jeweilige Regierung zu ersuchen, die Konvention von Ottawa, die den Gebrauch und die Herstellung von Antipersonenminen verbietet, zu unterschreiben,
  • stellt fest,
    - dass die weltweite Illegalisierung von Immigranten, ihr Anhalten an den Grenzen und ihre administrative Inhaftnahme gegen die Menschenrechte auf freie Bewegung und angemessene Lebensbedingungen verstoßen,
    - dass wirtschaftlicher, militärischer, klimaveränderungsbedingter und anderer Druck, der zu unfreiwilligen Auswanderungen führt, zu beseitigen sind,
    - und verpflichtet sich, solche behördlichen Ungerechtigkeiten zu bekämpfen,
  • stellt fest, dass Weltsteuerungs- und gesellschaftspolitische Probleme nicht voneinander zu trennen sind, und dass ihre Lösung eine dialektische Synthese von Ökologismus und Sozialismus erfordert,
  • stellt fest, dass die gegenwärtige Hungerkrise, sowie auch andere gesellschaftspolitische und Weltsteuerungsprobleme weder durch Bettelei noch durch humanitäre und Wohlfahrtstätigkeit gelöst werden können, sondern durch horizontale unmittelbare gegenseitige Hilfe und Austausch von Erfahrungen und Mitteln: SAT ist eines der Werkzeuge solcher Beziehungen,
  • hält die Arbeiter postsozialistischer und anderer Erdteile an, den Kopf aufzurichten und sich weltweit zu organisieren, um den Kapitalismus zu bekämpfen, der sie fortlaufend unterdrückt. nach oben

ĝisdatigo de 2017-04-18 / zuletzt geändert am 18. 04. 2017