In 1911 working-class Esperantists founded the German Workers' Esperanto League (in Esperanto: Germana Laborista Esperanto-Asocio, GLEA). In the late 1920's the Soviet communist tendency won out over others; in 1930 the social-democratic members founded their own organisation, the Socialist Esperanto League (Socialista Esperanto-Asocio, SEA).

In 1933 both worker Esperanto associations were suppressed by the Nazis after their seizure of power. Only the "neutral" German Esperanto League (Germana Esperanto-Asocio, GEA) managed to keep going until 1936 due to its appeasement strategy (ideological concessions, exclusion of non-"Aryan" members, publication of speeches by Hitler in Esperanto, ...).

After World War II the German Esperanto League was reestablished to represent all Esperantists in Germany. It was supposed to maintain a neutral stance between the bourgeois and the proletarian Esperanto movements. But it violated this neutrality in 1955 by collectively joining the bourgeois Universal Esperanto Association (Universala Esperanto-Asocio, UEA). Consequently, at Easter in 1956 a group of mainly social-democratic Esperantists founded the Free Esperanto League for German-Language Territories (Libera Esperanto-Asocio por germanlingvaj regionoj, LEA/G). As what once was an association has gradually developed into an informal (and small) working group, the name was changed in 2020 to "German-language Worker Esperanto Activists" (Laboristaj Esperanto-Aktivuloj Germanlingvaj), a name that more adequately describes its present state. The group co-operates with the World Anational League (Sennacieca Asocio Tutmonda, SAT). top

ĝisdatigo de 2020-08-14 / last changes made on August 14, 2020